ALBUM REVIEWSMUSIC GEAR REVIEWSSUBMIT ALBUM REVIEWSUBMIT GEAR REVIEW Bookmark and Share
The Tab World -  The Ultimate Music Resource Search For Find
Browse SectionMembers PanelClose
 

Jackson: JS30 reviews

SCORE: 4,3  
Back to reviews main  
Features
Playability
Quality
Durability
Overall

Jackson JS30
icon
Back to electric guitar reviews
Buy Jackson JS30
Review Jackson JS30
 
 
 

Review by a visitor on 15.12.2007




I bought my guitar online for $435 2 years ago. I bought it because I got tired of playing the knock-off versions of it.

 
 
  Features  
 
The double locking system is excellent. Dive-bombing or driving up, it stays in tune. The fine tuners work very well and no problems here. Neck is fast and easy to manuver around. The Seymour Duncan pickups in it scream dark metal or funky either way.
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
The axe is fast! From blistering leads to just vamping on chunky chords. It play extremely well.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
As long as you keep babying it(neck moisturizing, body conditioning, adjustments, etc,etc)The quality will last. No doubt inmy opinion, itnulls my baby.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
I gig with this axe and she runs like a champ day in and out. Only time she needs minor adjustment is when I really vamp on the strings during some metal songs. Even then, itnulls only minor.
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
Overall, my favorite axe. Excellent all around playability. Would recommend it to others doing some shopping around.
 
 

Review by a visitor on 24.11.2006




Hi!! I wrote a review earlier, I am that guy who plays in that Transsylvanian gothic metal band. Well as I said it is good guitar. Now I can write a more precise description, due to the time that has passed...

 
 
  Features  
 
My opinion is the same... It is very playable, has a great sound, it doesnnullt interfere with the amp (has good quality pickups!!). The neck is OK!, The tremolo is working just fine, sometimes it gets a bit (a very little bit) detuned when I pull the bridge up, but this is not a big problem. You can hardly hear any difference, and when I push down the bridge the tuning returns to normal. In had no problem with the volume and tone controls... This guitar has almost no noise even at high gain distortions. I think the neck pickup is a bit sensitive, but hey... She can scream like hell! And thatnulls the point :) The lockers are OK, the fine tuners are OK, sometimes one screw gets stuck, but with a bit of force I can manage it to turn (but this happens very rare!!).
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
Well, she is Okay from this point of view too... Compared to my other guitars, this choice was the best. The strings are risen a bit, so they donnullt touch the fingerboard when I play my riffs. This is not a problem, I got use to it. And rising the bridge is normal in my case, because my guitar is tuned to "D"... When I was playing in "E", the whole situation was different. I can use a variety of capodastros too. The fingerboard is comfortable.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
The sound quality is excellent! I can use a large variety of effects from the old time blues to the dark "black metal sounds", and from the meditative clean reverbed sounds to the screaming hardcore distortions. The difference between the two humbuckers is clearly hearable. The neck pickup has a smooth "bluesy" sound, when the bridge pickup can scream like hell. The combination of the two has a smooth acoustic sound. With these carracteristics and the tone control knob, I can get whatever I want. she doesnnullt generate noise at all.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
I think she is very reliable!!! She only needs tuning when I change the strings, and some fine tuning after gigs or repetitions, it stays in tune good. The sound is very clean and during a gig, it doesnnullt mix in with the other sounds (as my old guitars sound). It is very steady for live gigs. I trust my guitar because of her reliability. From this point of view she is excellent!
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
My overall opinion on this guitar is: Very Good!! And for her price is the best!!... I have a transparent black one, and she is just beautiful. As I said I fell In love with this guitar when I saw her in the store. I am not considering a better one (yet). She does live up to my expectations.
 
 

Review by a visitor on 3.10.2006




I bought my JS-30 at my local music shop of wood brothers in pittsfield, MA. and i almost instantly fell in love with thi guitar. i almost went for its step up in the jackson line, but i saw the price difference and for how they played the step up wasnt worth it. i heard no real noticeable differences. i paid 250 dollars for this guitar a little over 2years ago and im still happy to this day with my choice. what made me choose this exact item was a lot of things. the first was style, the first thing that caught my eye was how this pieceof candy looked. with its red finish and razor shapr design i fell in love with it form justl looking at it. next, was how it played, once i picked it up i had an immensely stron feeling that it was going to play as good as it looked. and when i plugged it in, well thats a whole other chapter i would get lost in.

 
 
  Features  
 
its stron points are the neck, its very fast, and very smooth, and the pickups are also very agressive hich is perfect for a metalist like me. :) and the tone nobs and the 5 point switch ad volume controlling is perfect. i do agree however that the neck pickup buzzes a wee bit whn ou switch up to it but its not unbearable. i would have liked to havesen a floyd rose or locking trem on it but i understand for the price, id have needed to spend a bit more, but thats ok cause ive already gotten a seperate one that satisfies that need ;). andi have to say it plays best with a set of anti-rust elixirs on it. defenitly a great sound for the metal feel that guitar sustains.
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
it performes better than almost every guitar in its class, id say its among the top 3 if i had to fancy up a top line. but most importantly it delivers the expectations. it does exactly what i anticipate and thats a huge strength in this guitar
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
sound quality almost excellent, maybe aswap out for better pickupsdown the road, effects perfect and it definitly performs better than others. it does as i mentioned produce som noise when the neck pickup is selected but its not unbearable.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
this thhing is a steel box, ive dropped it and banged it and ill be damned if it breaks or becomes lacking in performance. this thing keeps holding its own in a strong way. it most certainly does NOT need frequent adjustments and is more than ready for a live gig.
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
this item is a masterpiece for the price. and an amazing guitar for begginers and experianced users alike. i chose htis cause it chose to stand out, and that my friends is what makes, and out STANDing guitar.
 
 

Review by a visitor on 14.6.2006




I got it from a music instruments store, at 350 euros. I play in a Transylvanian gothic-metal band. I had (have) a JS 20 too, but i missed the tremolo and the fine tuners. I have it for 4 days.

 
 
  Features  
 
It is a great guitar, it is soft, and also it has got a great sound. Even at higher distortion levels she doesnnullt scream as my old guitar did, when I am close to the amp.(well the amp is at max. level:)). The tremolo is OK !!! Works like a swiss watch :).
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
Well, as a metal guitarist I can say that this gadget has a wery BIG sound. But it also depends on the kind of amp. I am using. Sometimes I miss the middle single coil pickup. But it goes wery well with miy distortion effects.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
The sound is good. It is smooth and pleasant, and the tone control too is excellent. I noticed a little (but just a little) noise when the neck-pickup was "at duty".
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
I think it is wery reliable. I tuned her up 4 days ago (when I bought it) I had some repetitions, and also I play it at least 6 hours a day, and for 4 days it has NO problems with the tuning. Yes I think is is REALLY steady for live gigs !! I had no problems using her at wery LOUD places. :)
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
Overall, this guitar is excellent for itnulls price. It has got almost everything. Yes it does live up to my expectations... I fell in love with her when I (accidentally) saw her :)
 
 

Review by a visitor on 21.1.2006




got it for 300 euros and itnulls a very good guitar for itnulls price...

 
 
  Features  
 
it looks good, the humbuckers look very nice with the jackson on top of nullem.. The knobs get in the way if younullre used to laying your hand on the strings, although it doesnnullt get in the way while muting.
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
played it non-stop for 6 hours, suprisingly soft..
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
20min to get used to, sounds awesome, and I tried it on three different amps the guitar helps out the amp, although itnulls backwards in most cases, itnulls more of a metal guitar, and is good for hard playing, depends on the player...
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
looks tuff enough, inullve had it for 2 days, waiting to see...
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
I chose it nullcause I never had a Jackson before, looks nice, feels nice, hope to last longer than the last one... A very good deal
 
 

Review by a visitor on 10.2.2005




I bought this about 4 months ago for ?250 which was quite a good deal for what i got. Probably one of the best in the range of that price that I know of.

 
 
  Features  
 
The guitar body is suprisingly light, its strong and the finish is good, a decent fret board and the scary headstock. The weak point are definately the volume and tone nobs, the volume gets in the way especially when you sit down and play.

They crackle alot too, the pickups sound fantastic though they are starting to fall through a little, its a good guitar but as for workmanship, it sells out. Yeah it lasts but I dont know how long for though. I mean after 2 months the volume nob fell off... but I do play it alot.

Plays alright, the brige could be higher and the tremolo arm could do with some work, get alot of string ratling. The divebombs though are fantastic, its quite a stiff ffloyd rose though!
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
It is at heart a rock guitar and no matter what ive said, the good points are really good and the bad points arent really all that bad. It performs well, its not as "Flowsy" as my strat but it handles faster riffs and melodies well.

You could play this for hours on end.... like me, its comfortable and it still holds strong, thats what i was looking for.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
Sound quality is great, its not a les paul but it does sound quite good, works fantastically with effects, its so versatile. The odd rattle or crackle is all you really ever get.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
Gigging this is great, sounds fantastic and it looks quite good too, you dont tend to pay much attention to the odd rattle or whatever live as long as iut doesnt get amplified.

Tuning is ok, it lasts but its a bit of a bugger to tune, mainly because of the strings, which are locked. Im just lazy though.

Its compitent
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
The guitar is a good guitar, better than some shatty Ibanez you can get for around that price and some more expensive. Sounds better than a strat but doesnt have that flow. Its fast and its grizzly, if you want to play metal for a cheap price, id recommend it.

Beats BC Rich hands down for that, because it has 22 frets its more sturdy, i found on a Rich Beast with the full rack of frets there the strings started to feel loose and flimsy.

But i guess thats your choice. Good guitar, great sounds and holds fair.

 
 

Review by a visitor on 8.1.2005




Guitar Center i paid $200 i think list price is 400

 
 
  Features  
 
I have had it about 3 or 4 years. I never had major problems with it. a lil crackling sometimes when turning the knobs. plays excepitonally well for a 3-400 dollar guitar.
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
compared to my bronze warlock it is great but compared to my Les Paul it obviously falls short. It does play good, pretty smooth and quick.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
it sounds pretty good and it does give a lil noise every now and then but it is a great guitar for what you pay.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
i have performed with it a few times and i always felt comfortable with it. stays in tune surprisingly well.
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
i chose it mainly cuz it wasnt too expensive and it honestly exceeded my expectations.
 
 

Review by ShadoW99 on 15.7.2004




I bought it off of musicians friend for about 300 dollars... i bought it a few weeks ago.

 
 
  Features  
 
The guitar is very strong in its pick ups and action...
 
 
 
  Playability  
 
If i ever want to hear a sound that i want i can get it out of this guitar.
 
 
 
  Quality  
 
Very good quality sounding but it also depends on the the strings and amp you use.
 
 
 
  Durability  
 
Very reliable... hardly ever need adjusting
 
 
 
  Overall  
 
Overall i enjoy jammin with this guitar never givenulls me problems i chose this guitar because some of my friends had this one and I tried it out at there house and ended up getting one.